async-threading is dead

I released async-threading as open source through Symantec, which means that Symantec owns it. I left Symantec in September of 2009 for a job at Adobe, and as I was the sole contributor on the project, there will be no further updates to it.

I see a couple of bugs filed, primarily around Flex 4 compatibility. I would absolutely love to patch this and release a new build, but I can not legally touch the code (or even the project page on google code) – Symantec owns it.

Anyways, just thought I would post this here. I feel a bit bad that there are bugs just hanging out on the project page.

Thanks to all of you who downloaded it and emailed me feedback on it. It was a lot of fun to work on and interact with the community as a whole. I have a few other projects in the back of my head that I want to build out and release – hopefully they will be equally well received 🙂

One response to “async-threading is dead

  1. Hi,
    I am not sure, should I write here about async-threading or not. Google website still has your name as the owner of the project, and I got the link of this bolg there. Anyway, I guess at lest you can suggest me for my problem.
    I am usning async-threading with one class in a moblie project in flash builder 4.5.
    I am getting the error message below.

    VerifyError: Error #1053: Illegal override of Container in mx.core.Container.

    at com.symantec.premiumServices.asyncThreading.handlers::FPSObserverHandler()[/Users/rimbey/Downloads/AsyncThreading_2.1/src/com/symantec/premiumServices/asyncThreading/handlers/FPSObserverHandler.as:51]
    at com.symantec.premiumServices.asyncThreading::AsyncThreadingManager/http://www.symantec.com/premiumServices/asyncThreading::initialize()[/Users/rimbey/Downloads/AsyncThreading_2.1/src/com/symantec/premiumServices/asyncThreading/AsyncThreadingManager.as:140]
    at com.symantec.premiumServices.asyncThreading::AsyncThreadingManager$/getInstance()[/Users/rimbey/Downloads/AsyncThreading_2.1/src/com/symantec/premiumServices/asyncThreading/AsyncThreadingManager.as:110]
    at com.symantec.premiumServices.asyncThreading.abstract::AbstractAsyncThread()[/Users/rimbey/Downloads/AsyncThreading_2.1/src/com/symantec/premiumServices/asyncThreading/abstract/AbstractAsyncThread.as:152]

    Do you have any suggestions for me?

    Thanks in advance,

    Nahid

Leave a Reply

